Christine’s AIESEC Summer Internship in China

My internship last summer 2010 was definitely one of the most exciting, life-changing and thrilling things I’ve ever done in my entire life. The preparation for my internship was not easy but the thought that eventually I would be laying my feet on the streets of China made everything easy. There are so many reasons why my internship in China was the best summer experience ever.

I worked with Marinedream Foundation, Inc. for six weeks with eight other interns. I have to say that I have never worked with a group of people who are intelligent, fun and adventurous. They came from around the globe: Russia, Poland, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and Greece. During the first week of our internship, we stayed in Shanghai for our training. We all hang out together, ate together and visited a lot of temples and the famous The Bund. During the weeklong training, we  got the chance to meet the members of the AIESEC SISU in Shanghai and attended some of their school activities. During the second week, we parted ways and I went to the city that was assigned to me. All in all, I visited 10 cities every week and trained 10 groups of high school students on how to make a proposal that will benefit the environment in their own community. I met my host family in Zhangjiagang City where I stayed for four weeks. My host parents are nothing but generous, caring and understanding. They treated me as one of their own and I am very thankful for that. We spent a lot of time together as I was able to go with them when they went to their hometown for a holiday. I was lucky enough to know them and still get in touch with them until now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had the best time facilitating the teams from different schools. I was so impressed with their enthusiasm and desire for learning. The teachers are warm and very appreciative. Even though they knew that I was still a college student, they treated me professionally and with respect. During the last week of my training, I met two Filipino teachers at one of the schools I trained and we had a great time. I finished my job four weeks later, and I still had a week to spare. I spent those four weeks with some of my co-interns traveling around Shanghai and nearby provinces.

Writing about my summer internship wasn’t easy. Four paragraphs cannot sum up everything that I learned and experienced in my stay in China. Having this internship made me believe that we can do whatever we want if we make it possible. There are opportunities everywhere. Even challenges can be good opportunities. We can make excuses anytime we want, but if we can always stop a second and see things in a different way.

Leave a Reply

